Winter Blues

This is the maiden post in the Blog. I intend to write about the ups and downs of leaving the UK to live in the US with my wife, focussing on different themes and angles on the Visa process and emigrating and the impact that it has on me. Some entries will be sad and some will be a lot happier but I will strive to paint an accurate picture and maybe even be a little interesting.

It’s raining again. It always rains in England but the rain of the past few months surpasses anything I’ve previously known. If I was a religious type I’d be headed to a timber merchants and Googling “How to build an Ark”. The days of sodden monotony blend into one and I long for a place where the constant drip of water is replaced by the uplifting succour of sunlight. I think the reason that this winter seems so long is the fact that I’m in limbo, waiting for my Visa to live with my wife in the US and already slowly untangling myself from the clinging arms of Albion. It’s difficult being in a situation where you are going to break off ties, and you hope that your closest friends will understand and want to stay in touch.

This week will mark 8 months since I got married on an impossibly warm New England summers day, and we are still not much closer to being together.  The plus side of this Blog is that it will invariably become less melancholy as we drift closer to each other despite the glacial slowness of the US immigration system. I’ve just booked my latest trip to the US, for two weeks in March, BA were having a “sale” but the cost of the flight was still over four hundred pounds of which most is taxes. I fucking hate politicians, vampires and ghouls every one. It’s great to have something to look forward to though, and the thought of two weeks of waking up together lifts the mood like little else. One day, hopefully this summer, there will come a day when we can wake up beside each other every day and romantic gestures won’t take five days to arrive courtesy of the Royal Mail and US postal service.

It should be noted that a lot of the preconceptions that people have about long distance relationships are incorrect. It’s not all about sex on Skype and trust issues. Since I’ve been in this relationship I’ve found that whoever first thought of “Absence makes the heart grow fonder” knew their shit, and that you really appreciate the time you get together a lot more when you are forced to live apart. When you are 3000 miles away from each other with a five hour time difference all of the time that you get is quality time and date nights are the highlight of the week. Airports become the place of the greatest happiness and most crushing goodbyes and planning our trips together becomes the main priority in life. Despite the distance, I’ve never felt more loved or appreciated.

My aim for this week is to try to reach out to friends that I haven’t seen for a while and who I will miss when I’m gone. I’m drawing up a list of friends to see to  make the time go faster and so that I won’t feel like I wasted my last year in the UK. I will genuinely miss my friends, and It’s going to be hard making new friends when I move but I’m still here at the moment and I intend to do as much as I can while I’m still here. I’m also writing up a list of things that I want to do before I leave, as like everyone I have a large list of things that I’ve always wanted to do. So I envisage making kind of a bucket list without dying. The not dying part is important. So now I’m off to plot and plan, goodbye until next time 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Winter Blues

Leave a Reply

