One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell

Today the Morrissey song “One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell” was on my playlist. It’s not one of the best songs he’s ever written but the relevance of the title to my current situation was not lost on me. The last words of the song are “One day “goodbye” will be “farewell” so grab me while we still have the time”. Now that I know roughly when I’ll be leaving England, every time I do something or see a friend I wonder if it’ll be the last time. I watched Exeter City play football on Monday (as I have done for over 25 years) and they were so depressingly awful they made the decision for me, I won’t be attending the last home game of the season! There are other things, however, that it’s going to be painful and even emotional to do for the last time. I had a lovely day out at Dunster Castle on Saturday with a friend and she text me afterwards saying “I’ll miss our days out when you’re gone” and it made me think of how hard it’s going to be to say goodbye to friends and family and how I’m going to do it. Things like my last Sunday roast and walk on Dartmoor are going to feel more significant too.

Image

Dunster Castle, a lovely place to visit on a day off.

 

The upside of this situation is that I’m appreciating the everyday things in my life that much more now that I can’t take them for granted for much longer. Every thing I do has an extra level of clarity and meaning that I’ve never experienced before. Even the humble Sunday walk along the River Exe becomes imbued with an almost religious significance because in two months I won’t be able to do it any more. Having friends and family who are so keen to spend time with me before I leave makes me feel really lucky. I’m very determined to see as much of everyone as I can before I emigrate, and to stay in touch after. Although it’s going to be pretty emotional and sad saying goodbye to people, it’s a necessary step to start my new life with my wife and I’m going to try and make the goodbyes as positive as possible. I do feel stressed with the amount of effort it’s going to take to emigrate but that’s only going to be temporary. 

I went for a run after work in the sunshine the other day and I leant on a fence post and reflected that I’m really damn lucky to be where I am right now, and I’m going to enjoy my last two months in the UK rather than being stressed and overwhelmed. After a long and rather miserable winter I’m happy and excited about the future. If you are reading this and you’ve ever emigrated and have any advice or tips on how to make the transition smoother then please share them with me! If you are reading this as one of my friends (and thanks to everyone who has given me great feedback and encouragement about this blog) then make sure we get to say goodbye properly before I go. At the moment assuming all goes well at the medical and interview in May I’m expecting to be leaving the UK at the end of June, giving me time to book flights, sort out everything I need to do and say my goodbyes. I’ll be in the US for my first Independence Day (or as I call it “The day we decided we’d rather have Canada”). Keep an eye on this blog as I’ll let you know how the medical goes next, it’s only ten days away now!

 

2 thoughts on “One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell

  1. Kat

    I love you. Every day I think of how lucky I am, how amazing you are, and how grateful I am for everything you do. There will never be important enough words to describe it, so I’m glad I get to spend my life showing you.

  2. All the best made. Certainly hope to see you before you go.

    This winter was poignant for me too. After some 13 years, the family caravan has to be removed from the park. That means my regular jaunts to West Somerset (that includes Dunster which is one of my favourite places in the country) are at an end and I don’t know when I will visit Exmoor again.

    Did you visit Cleeve Abbey just a few miles east? Or did you go up onto the Moor a few miles west?

Leave a Reply

