What a Difference Six Months Makes!

This post starts in a very mundane manner but bear with me, there is a point! Earlier today my wife and I were doing our weekly grocery shop and I found a baked potato that is served in plastic and you just need to microwave it. I was amused at how lazy an idea this was and that people were willing to pay such an increased price over buying a raw potato.  We often joke about pointless or silly products. I also tried to sneak some Lindt truffles into our cart (trolley) but my wife vetoed me as we have lots of chocolate already. Where does this supermarket silliness end you ask? Well have you heard about the game where you put something like condoms or lubricant into another couples cart whilst they aren’t looking and try to see their faces at the checkout? Probably there! But the point that I’m trying to make is that now I’m living with my wife everything feels amazing and fun, even boring everyday chores.

  Some of my recent posts reflect my irritation with how easy it is for things to go wrong once you arrive in the US because of useless bureaucracy but when I look at the big picture I realise how lucky I am. In future,  I’m going to try to focus on the good things rather than the small irritations involved with moving because the good far outweighs the bad. Waking up beside my wife every morning is amazing and it feels like it will never grow old and I really hope it doesn’t. I think that having to wait so long to be together strengthens a relationship and means that we both appreciate each other hugely. We have both waited so long to live together and the emotional toll that only seeing each other every three months took will probably never be forgotten. But we made it and now we get the reward, each other!

This week marks six months since I first began this blog on a rainy, windswept English weekend and reading back through it to that first post shows what an emotional journey we have had to be together. https://albiontoamerica.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/winter-blues/ February was slow despite its 28 days and thoroughly miserable. In comparison with that, last weekend my wife and I went on a chocolate factory tour with unguarded samples. How good is that! Thank you to everyone who has read, commented and followed this blog since then, when I started writing it was more of an attempt to clear my head to anything and I never expected it to have been read so many hundreds of times every month! The next six months will be full of content, I assure you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

