All Set For Success

Good news everyone! Earlier this month I wrote about the frustrations of trying to deal with bureaucracy in the US and my anger with officials who seem to actively want to be unhelpful when it comes to immigration issues See Here. The good news is that following the help of a lady who works for CBP at Logan Airport, the mistakes made in the system when I entered the US have been corrected and as of Wednesday my Social Security Card is officially on its way. This is a huge relief as it had been hanging over us for a while and we weren’t sure if it had been fixed (the fixes take a while to go through so you can’t be sure instantly).The guy we dealt with at the SS office was really nice; an immigrant himself he sympathized with how bad the system can be. He even expressed a desire to work for USCIS to try and improve the situation from within! The next step is waiting for my Green Card to arrive, it should arrive about now but as the stamped Visa in my passport acts as a temporary Green Card for a year the matter is not quite as pressing.

The next piece of good news is that my wife and I found a really cheap last minute deal to Cancun in Mexico and we leave in a few weeks. We haven’t been away together since March and that was four days in Maine with the weather way below freezing! Apparently the reason it’s so cheap is because kids are no longer on vacation and its hurricane season.  Hurricanes don’t hit land at Cancun all that often so we are not hugely worried, but if this blog ends abruptly in a few weeks then I’m probably being blown to Jamaica! We are really looking forward to this vacation because the immigration process while being rewarding was very stressful as you will know if you read the link above. I’m also looking forward to seeing Mayan ruins; visiting Chichen Itza has been on my list for a very long time. If you have been to Cancun and have any other recommendations then please feel free to let me know.

The third piece of good news is that we found a shop in Boston that sells a good range of British groceries at a reasonable price. Kiki’s in Brighton in case you are ever in the area. It sounds ridiculous but when you are thousands of miles away from your homeland you often crave things from there, sometimes even things that you never particularly liked when you lived there! Nobody ever craves Penguin Bars but when you see one for the first time in months you have to fight the urge to buy a pack. We left with two carrier bags bulging with tea, chocolates and various other groceries but mainly chocolate. I must admit that my eyes were as big as saucers as we wandered around the store. The only things that I still hugely crave are clotted cream fudge and scones, but I’ll have to make them myself as I don’t think they are readily obtainable over here.

British chocolate!
British chocolate!

So my immigration issues have been corrected, we have a holiday to look forward to, the sun is shining and it’s Labor Day on Monday which means Kat and I get an extra day together. Things are definitely looking good 🙂

2 thoughts on “All Set For Success

  1. Chichen Itza is amazing though I strongly recommend visiting Tulum on the coast too.

    Very jealous! I’d love to go back to Mexico but hopefully next time not in the middle of a hurricane where a partner ends up in hospital for five days!

Leave a Reply

