My Conversations With Americans Represented in Pie Charts

For this weeks post I thought I’d try something different. One of my favourite things about living in America is my interactions with Americans: people are so friendly and the fact that I’m British is often a really good icebreaker. Here I’ve taken a tongue in cheek look at some of the things that pop up in many conversations that I have with the locals. These conversations make day to day life a little bit more interesting so I thought I’d share with you all. It’s not 100% accurate of course but all of the thingsΒ featured in the pie charts have happened with varying regularity.

Americans 1

Americans2

Americans7

Americans4

Americans5

Americans 6

What do you think? Have you had any of these conversations? They definitely make my life more fun!

31 thoughts on “My Conversations With Americans Represented in Pie Charts

  1. Love this! As an American in England, I could probably make my own set of pie charts of the things I hear all of the time. I get the opposite, though: “How are you coping with the rain?” and “Are you from New York?” πŸ™‚

  2. This post is absolutely brilliant, but I’m surprised nobody mentions in the British pop culture conversations The IT Crowd, Coupling, and the Premier League and my favorite team who lost today and is in 15th place now. 😦 Go Chelsea!

    The rain thing I get a lot to because I lived in Seattle.

    1. I’m glad you liked it! The Premier League is something I should have added actually, people ask me who I support a lot, luckily not Chelsea haha! I have had discussions about the IT Crowd which is great because its one of my favourite shows. πŸ™‚

  3. Lol I always make the feel at home comment when it rains and my boyfriend is on canada or the states. and everyone in the states thought he was australian! I guess cause he says mate alot and he doesn’t have a “posh” accent as he puts it lol

    1. Haha! I think that might be my problem, people expect Brits to sound really posh or the opposite so they can’t place a middle of the road accent. Glad I’m not the only one who gets asked if I’m Aussie!

  4. We have a lot of Americans here and I also have family in Kentucky so I guess your charts are quite accurate..ha ha…Aluminium is the one that really gets me…..I think they must be given a check list when they start school on questions to ask the English wherever they happen to meet us πŸ™‚

  5. Australian…. German…. English…. Irish…. hardly ever Scottish (which I am) but then when I say I’m from Scotland they go “Oh, does that mean you’re Irish?”……… Emmm, Nope. Means I’m Scottish, or British if you must! πŸ˜‰
    Plus I haven’t found an American yet who can pronounce Edinburgh.
    But favourite thing they ask me is “Do you like it here?”… well, yes I do. Otherwise I’d be going home! πŸ™‚
    Cool post though with your pie charts πŸ™‚

    1. Haha! That doesn’t surprise me at all! I was asked if I was French once. I get the “do you like it here” question all the time too! It’s a good conversation starter so I don’t mind. πŸ™‚

  6. We need specifics! How do you pronounce water ‘wrongly’? Steve says ‘wutter’, and ‘futher’ for further, and ‘retch’ instead of reach (which is hilarious, because we don’t want someone vomiting into the back of the cupboard). And with herb, do you pronounce it with a silent ‘h’ (as it should be, in my opinion)?

    1. Ah, saw the urb reply. If it makes you feel better, I’m one of the few here that say it that way, others say it with the h. What about aunt? Here they say it ‘ant’, which is confusing (🐜) , so I say ‘ont’.

Leave a Reply

