On My First Attempt At NaNoWriMo

I love writing; in fact it is one of my favourite pastimes. One of the few things that I enjoy more than writing is procrastination which is why I’m writing about writing when I had set some time aside for planning my novel but that is another story (for the next time I sit down to plan my novel, perhaps)? If you are a perceptive person or more likely because I have told you, you will have guessed that I am about to embark on my first NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month.

The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words in the month of November. I may be crazy for doing this when I have a full time job and a Netflix subscription but I managed to write my 20,000 word MA thesis in 5 days at university so this will be easy right? My novel is going to be historical fiction; set in the chaos surrounding the ending of Roman Britain and the provisional title is The Lost Lands. There are two reasons for choosing this period of history; 1) Very little is known about the period so if anyone ever does read it they will have a hard time criticising the historical accuracy and 2) I can stick King Arthur in somewhere.

Reasons for doing my first NaNoWriMo
• To write on the train to work instead of reading 500 pointless Buzzfeed ‘articles’ for a legitimate reason to avoid eye contact with my fellow commuters.
• To be allowed in the library after opening hours (I’ve always been one of the cool kids huh)?
• I’ve always wanted to do it.
• I have some awesome coworkers who have inspired me.
• Since I moved to the US my social life has been more limited and I have a lot more spare time than I had in the UK (sad but true).

I hope that doing NaNoWriMo is as much fun as writing this blog and getting to meet so many awesome and supportive fellow bloggers. I promise I will keep posting on this blog as it will be a great distraction when I get stuck or need to procrastinate. After all, while I may be a mediocre writer at best I am a grade A procrastinator!
Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year?

31 thoughts on “On My First Attempt At NaNoWriMo

  1. I don’t know if I will sign up officially, but I intend to use the month to get stuck back into Salmonweird. I’ve let it slide the last month as I’ve had a really busy one. The cold nights should give me plenty of excuses to do so.

    Good luck with yours, it sounds intriguing!

  2. I like your reasons for doing NaNoWriMo, and I admire you for doing it – I am too much of a procrastinator for one thing, and I start a lot of things and then give up…
    It sounds like you know what you’re doing so I think I don’t to wish you luck, but I do wish you a good word count!

  3. I will be making my first attempt this year. I don’t get how I think that with a 10 month old, a newborn, and another baby due, plus a full-time and part-time job I’m going to get any writing done….

      1. What inspired me to try it in spite of my other commitments was a post I read from Longreads about an author who wrote her novel during NaNoWriMo while she was on display in a library, and she was working another job as well.

  4. I really like the premise of your story and the great historical fiction author Bernard Cornwell started writing because he was at a loose end having moved to the States with his American wife, it worked out pretty well for him! Good luck.

    1. Thank you! Bernard Cornwall was the reason I got into historical fiction when I discovered his Sharpe books as a teen. If my book is 1% as readable as his work I’ll be delighted!

  5. Bea

    Good luck! The world is very lucky that I do NOT do nanowrimo. I am not a writer and no one should have to suffer through my writing attempts. Sounds like you have something fabulous planned though!

  6. I see no reason not to do this. And I see no reason that you shouldn’t share the whole thing with us like a serial novella (unless, of course, you really want to publish it someday and don’t want us to already have read it for free) giving us your latest effort each week in November. Another thought on King Arthur — I was watching one of those “looking for” shows on TV the other day and the guy (???) was looking for good ole King Arthur and the stone from whence the sword was drawn. But he was looking in Scotland. It was interesting to say the least and I have, being me, forgotten most of it. But I did remember that he asked one of the Scottish guys he was interviewing about Arthur being a Christian. The reply was, “of course not”…that there weren’t too many Christians around at the time…that Arthur would surely have been Druid…..and besides he traveled around with this magician guy who was decidedly not Christian. Just another almost useless factoid (true or not) among the millions that I picked up from TV that will crowd my mind forever.

    1. I think that if I do manage to finish the novel I will share it on here, maybe by creating a file to download as I think it would be a bit long to post in the blog, even as a serial. Those are some interesting King Arthur facts, one of the reasons I like the idea of writing about him is that so little is known of him (if he even existed) that you can pretty much make of him as you will. 🙂

  7. I’m impressed! I seem to be devoting more time to procrastinating than to writing these days, but I’m tempted by NaNoWriMo every year. I’d love to get updates as you go so I can see just how “doable” it is!

Leave a Reply

