The American Obsession With Halloween

I posted this last year when I had far less followers than I have now and as it’s topical I thought I’d edit it to make it slightly less crap and repost. Let me know what you think!

Old England to New England

A few weeks ago I was walking to the grocery store at the end of our street when I came across a graveyard in the front garden of one of the houses. My initial thought that the family were strapped for cash and refusing to pay for graveyard space was incorrect; they were decorating for Halloween a month early. Now in the UK you might

View original post 617 more words

9 thoughts on “The American Obsession With Halloween

  1. So jealous! I love Halloween and hope to experience it in the US one year. We get a few local kids coming round (an excuse for me to dress up!) but I’d love it if the whole cul-de-sac got involved and dressed the street. I do usually say ‘trick’ when they arrive, which totally throws them and they stand gawking until I give out the sweets they were expecting!

    Have you see the documentary The American Scream? It’s about three US families transforming their homes into scare houses. Completely insane the amount of work that goes into it, but very cool. 🙂

    1. I might end up going to Salem because some friends are and I hear it is absolutely crazy there at Halloween but I think it might make a good blog post! I haven’t seen that documentary, it sounds like something that is worth watching. I feel like my neighbours might be on it haha! Thanks for the heads up. 🙂

  2. It used to be my favorite holiday, but I wonder now what the point of it is. I don’t care for the cheap sugar, I feel like it makes me sick, and I don’t feel like focusing on fear and gore. This year Guinevere and I are going to bed early and buying chocolate on sale the next day.

  3. I really miss Halloween! This will be my first year away from it and it makes me a bit homesick to think about it! I’ve been trying to get into the spirit of it by reading short horror stories with my students, but it’s just not the same without all of the decorations, candy, and pumpkin-flavored everything.

Leave a Reply

