Happy Thanksgiving!

I haven’t been able to spend any time on my blog recently because of the creative chaos that is NaNoWriMo. Who knew that writing 50,000 words in one month would become a massive black hole sucking all free time away? Everyone apart from me apparently! I apologise for the radio silence from the blog and I promise that normal service will be resumed very soon and I will provide an update on my NaNoWriMo novel in the next few days.

As a recent arrival in the US, Thanksgiving doesn’t really have any significance to me other than a day off from work and the chance to eat turkey and pie. Anything that involves turkey and pie is always worth getting involved with so I can deal with that.  But speaking to American friends and coworkers I can see what a big family event it is here and it’s touching to see what effort people will make to be with their family for Thanksgiving.

TG!
Sammy is illustrating perfectly well how I’m going to spend most of my day off.

Last year I found that Thanksgiving was a great opportunity to reflect on what I should be thankful for and I am using it for that purpose again this year. I have a great wife, a job that I enjoy and have made some good friends in the US, despite the fact that I am the most awkward person in the world. This claim has not yet been verified but just ask anyone who knows me!

I would like to wish all of my readers, especially the ones in the US, a happy Thanksgiving! What are you doing for it this year?

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

