Help!

If you have been a regular reader of this blog you will have noticed that I have been a little light on the posting front recently. I would love to say that this is because I have been basking in the warm glow of a busy social life and simply haven’t had time to keep up with the blog but that would be a hugeΒ lie, I just haven’t had any inspiration lately. A touch of the winter blues added to a totally bland January perhaps. Apologies dear readers, I hope the inspiration returns soon!

I was tempted to do a post on how, as a Brit in the US, I don’t understand why some people actually think that voting for Trump is a good idea but then I realised that pretty much every American I have ever met doesn’t understand this either! I like posting about when something awkward or funny happens in my life, like when someone asks me what the Queen is like in person but its all been rather quiet on that front lately too. I said “bless you” when someone coughed the other day and then had to escape because I was embarrassed but that’s hardly blogworthy is it?

In addition to having a very boring life at the moment I haven’t been anywhere particularly attractive or photogenic in the past month so I can’t rely on the old stop gap of some nice photos. I went to the Cape Cod Canal last week and I was hoping to see a whale happily swimming through (it happens occasionally) but all I saw was an ugly barge being pulled along by a tug so no joy there either! I am hoping that winter hits properly soon so I can post aboutΒ skiing to work and wearing 34 layers in the cold but I’m not holding my breath.

wb1
It’s freezing outside and icy a problem with my inspiration to match. Sorry for the terrible pun!

I am calling on my blogging friends for help. What do you do when you hit writer’s block? Is there anything you’d like to see me cover?

30 thoughts on “Help!

  1. You know Tom, it must be a Northern Hemisphere thing. . . Something to do with all this bladdy rain!
    I just toss another log on the fire and dream of better days!
    Sometimes the art of saying something worthwhile, is knowing when not to say anything.
    Catch you soon, Dookes.

  2. Most of your blog posts have been about personal experiences, but you can write advice articles from a dispassionate / less personal angle for a more general audience. Things like “Top 5 Boston Winter Survival Tips for People Not Used to the Cold”. People love lists, also this will help you go through old material and expand a little further. “Top 5 Ways in Which Boston, MA is Like Devon, England” for something a little out of the ordinary. Click bait titles like that are usually quite easy to put together too.

    Travel articles. When you did Devon Walker, I found those interesting, especially when it was areas I knew. Photographs of landscapes are a big draw for people. How about titles like “Great Short Walks of New Hampshire”.

    Leisure reviews like this one I did for Eden Project. https://randomreviewsite.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/day-out-review-the-eden-project/

    Ultimately, I think you need to think about how far out of the scope of being a journal of an immigrant moving to the USA you want to reach. General advice articles, lists

    1. Oh, I’ve had another idea – advice you would give to somebody going the other way (i.e. moving to England from the US). Things like making sure you look the other way when crossing the road, how yes… some beers are served at room temperature, how they really need to give curry a try. Anyway, in my three posts I have probably given you enough ideas to take you through until mid Summer by now πŸ™‚

      1. You sure have haha! Thanks Matt, I appreciate it. Advice to give someone going the other way would be good, I’ve wanted to have an American living in the UK do a guest post for a while too. πŸ™‚

  3. Force myself until I break or work? That’s usually a fair thing to do. Alcohol (in moderation) can help.

    Topics… a contrast between a typical day in ‘Old England’ and ‘New England’? Clever euphemisms for telling someone to bugger off? Reviewing terrible bastardized American sports? I hope I’m helping, but probably not.

    1. You are helping! I really like the sports idea, I will have to try and watch the ice hockey or football and write what I make of it! Also alcohol might indeed help me think. Thanks Leisel! πŸ™‚

  4. I would kind of like to know how a Brit fell in love with an American…or maybe how an American fell in love with a Brit (except I know it’s the accent). Maybe that’s too personal, though.

  5. Sorry to hear you’re in a winter writing slump but, since misery loves company, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one! πŸ™‚ Like Autumn, I’d love to hear your transatlantic love story – especially with Valentine’s right around the corner. Also, a guide to British slang would be helpful. We’ve been streaming a lot of British programs lately (the plot lines are sooo much better than American ones!) but I know we’re missing some great quips because we don’t always catch the slang. I’ve had to look up a number of words that I won’t share here. (I’m too prudish/polite.) πŸ™‚

  6. You should do a post on how much you think Chelsea made a huge mistake by getting rid of Jose Mourinho and how this is a gift for you Arsenal fans for years to come. Oh wait, maybe that’s just my opinion. I find when I don’t have anything to write about is when it is easiest. Because any detail, like the “Bless You” embarrassment can be turned into a post. Why is that embarrassing? I am curious to know, that could have made a post. I am not Christian or anything, but anytime anyone sneezed that is what we said. And I grew up in Nevada, USA. So… It is when something is bothering me that I have the hardest time writing. Is something bothering you that you just don’t want to express but think you need to?

    1. It was embarrassing because you are meant to say it when someone sneezes and I said it when they coughed haha. I think you’ve nailed it actually, there are a few things I want to get out but I don’t want/ know how to post about them!

  7. I don’t believe in writing a post just for the sake of writing a post. Mine have dropped off in frequency lately, too, but I’m okay with that.

    Perhaps a new fitness class is in order for you? The yoga experience led to a fun post. Maybe a kickboxing class? Pilates?

    Whenever inspiration hits we’ll all be here to read the latest!

  8. It’s possibly easier for bloggers like me, because I tend to write general musings on whatever subject takes my fancy, in a mix of serious / humorous / gibberish. I actually have a list I keep adding to of topics to possibly write about. It must be harder when your blog is more of a personal journal and you feel a certain pressure to fill it with interesting experiences.

    How about doing some short interviews with other expats about their experiences of moving to the US? Or asking Americans what their impressions are of life in the UK? (Whether they have visited or not)

    1. I used to have a list of interesting things that I’d write down as they happened, I need to get back to doing that. Interviewing another expat would be a really good idea, I might try that. πŸ™‚

  9. I love your blogs as they are always interesting. I believe we all get a blank feeling, every now and then. I posted a blog today and featured a fellow blogger. Also, due to the cold weather, I embedded an image of a fireplace in the blog to project a warm feeling.

    I like the ideas from the other commenters such as lists and also transitioning from New England to England.

    I enjoying writing, especially poetry so it doesn’t take much for me to want to write.

    Also, WordPress has an abundance of ideas to inspire writing plus your fellow bloggers have daily, weekly and monthly events.

    Good luck.

    1. Thank you, I really appreciate the support! I think featuring a fellow blogger is a really good idea. I am now going to go visit your virtual fireplace and try to mentally warm up: it’s brutally cold today!

  10. Hello

    I just returned from a four month trip (a semester) to London and feel that as similar as the US and the UK are, there are some major differences that escape notice until you actually live in a place – I blog about some of those, like walking everywhere in London vs driving everywhere in the US, and the relative size of the countries – I live in Pennsylvania, and it takes me about 4 hours to get to either Philadelphia or Pittsburgh( the only cities in PA most Brits know of) while 4 hours driving from London would put me in Scotland or Wales. There were plenty of culture shock moments for me in Britain especially the history that the UK has so much of and the US so little of, and you will certainly have some observations that will interest people that have or will “cross the pond”. Anyway, a belated welcome to America.
    ArtDeco

    1. Thank you! There are so many differences out there which is what makes it makes it so interesting to write about. The size of the US still astounds me compared to the countries in Europe.

      I like your blog and although your poll in one of your posts is closed to votes I vote that you continue with the blog!

Leave a Reply

