A Metaphor

Yesterday the weather was pretty nice and my wife and I decided to head up to New Hampshire for the day. We went for a walk in a state park near Portsmouth and the sea air and sun were really invigorating. At one point in our walk we saw a tree growing awkwardly from the rocks just above the sea. It was the only tree that had managed to survive in that difficult habitat and it occurred to me that it was a metaphor for me being in America. I feel out of place, I stand out like a sore thumb but I’m still there and even the weather can’t get rid of me!

T1.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “A Metaphor

Leave a Reply

