Two Years in the USA

Two years ago today I landed in the United States as a new immigrant to these lands, clutching two suitcases which contained everything that I wanted to bring with me. It’s amazing how much shit you realise you don’t need when you have to pay excess baggage charges you see. There have been low points, high points and sharp points (the latter coming from the cat). I’ve learned some valuable things about life and about myself in the past two years like there is such a thing as too much snow (my first winter was Boston’s snowiest ever) and that kettles take longer to boil in the United States because the voltage is lower.

IMG_20150127_132324
Nope.

I’ve learned that people are mostly very friendly (with the exception of Boston drivers) and that it is possible to go for more than two days without some form of precipitation happening. I’ve also learned that my accent can sound Australian to some people and that if I don’t speak slowly some people can’t understand me at all. I’ve learned that there is no such thing as too much choice when it comes to ice cream flavours which is obviously something I approve of and no such thing as too much advertising which I approve of a lot less.

It’s pretty cool being a Brit in America. Yes, people like to talk about the standards of British dentistry sometimes and tease me about the Revolutionary War (you guys wasted perfectly good tea, nothing to be proud about) but pretty much every day I learn something new. Yesterday I discovered that Tom Brady is not in the business of scoring home runs (much to the hilarity of others) but these conversations and witty banter make life a lot more fun than it otherwise may be. For someone as socially awkward as me it’s handy to have such a good icebreaker up my sleeve when I meet new people.

Americans5

The high points include discovering the beautiful White Mountains and Cape Cod and exploring as much of New England as I can. Boston is a lovely city if you can ignore the dodgy infrastructure (you can’t because it will screw you over at some point) and a great place to live. Being able to live with my wife after two years of doing the whole long distance thing is still something I am grateful for every day and I have made some great friends at work. I still have a social circle similar in size to that of a hermit but I’m working on it, I promise.

wp-1464003609775.jpg
I love the White Mountains

The low points include homesickness, missing friends and family and having to deal with USCIS who are currently 9 months behind with green card renewals so I have to carry a piece of paper with me which extends the validity of my current card. Sigh. There are a lot of things that I miss about the UK like beer gardens and decent cheese and the vivid green of the land that only incessant rain can provide. I also miss going to see the doctor and not getting a bill afterwards but I like the fact that because you are effectively customers of your doctor you can replace them easily if you don’t like them.

WP_000674
I miss sitting outside a nice British pub with a cold beer

The most important thing that I have learned since moving is that things balance themselves out after time. As Bill Bryson wrote “When you move from one country to another you have to accept that there are some things that are better and some things worse, and there is nothing you can do about it.” This mindset helps me realise that as long as I don’t endlessly compare everything to how it was in England then I have some chance of being happy. Maybe not the best chance because I’m a miserable bastard and I’m happy with that choice but a chance nonetheless. Moving to another country is a rollercoaster and at the same time as being scary they can also be a lot of fun. I just have to hope that the brakes aren’t broken and that nobody vomits on me (always a possibility on the Red Line).

Here’s to the next two years and hopefully by then my new green card will have arrived. 😛

24 thoughts on “Two Years in the USA

  1. I don’t believe you had a COLD beer outside a pub — I’ve been to pubs and the beers are warm! (Or were they just doing that to mess with the American tourists?)

    And I can’t believe you forgot to mention how you miss cider. Real cider.

    But you sound very upbeat and positive. Keep focusing on the good stuff thats coming: autumn! Halloween!

    1. Oh warm beer is a thing, tends to be a winter thing for me. Plenty of cold beers too though. I do miss a crisp cider, I should have included that!

      I’m not willing to wish the summer away for Halloween until I’ve has some decent beach time. :p

  2. I love the pics as always. That is a lot of snow, I think I recall that the last few east coast winters have been particularly snowy?? I have no idea. I guess you have to shovel it?? It looks tedious!
    But I had to chuckle at the “kettle” thing: I did some research (well,I googled it, so whatever) on the diff between the British 220V residential standard and the US 110/120V and from what I can tell the biggest thing is MY KETTLE TAKES LONGER TO BOIL. 🙂 I love it.

    1. The last winter wasn’t bad at all (in Boston at least) but the one before was awful. I lost entire mornings to shovelling! Good exercise but I lost the love for snow that I’d had all my life! The kettle thing is one of those things you don’t read about until you move, then you want a cup of tea and its like hurry up! 🙂

      1. I like to visit snow and then leave it behind:) We get snow every 2-3 years, once or twice a winter, 6″ -12″ and it melts after a week. PERFECT. haha!

  3. I love the pie chart of things you apparently miss – especially the Queen!! Do they think she pops round each day?! Here’s to many more years of happiness in your adopted home 🍻

      1. I reckon I’d miss it too. Brits must be born with a weather chromosome – there’s no other sensible reason for missing the damp and grey unless it’s part of the DNA!

  4. We’re just coming up to four years in Denmark and to be honest I’m surprised at how little I miss the UK. I guess life here is not really so different and the Danes are pretty similar in tastes and habits. The language issue still frustrates: although Danes all speak excellent English, it can be annoying when you get asked a question in Danish or sit in on a conversation and don’t get it. My language skills are improving but still need lots of work.

    As for the hermit-like existence, I can relate. Taking a long career break deprived me of the chance to make friends at work. At least the rapidly approaching poverty will remedy that situation.. Here’s to the rollercoaster.. cheers!

    1. Good luck with improving your Danish, at least I don’t have to contend with learning a new language, although it feels like it sometimes!

      I find once you are past university age it just becomes harder to make friends anyway. If I hadn’t made friends at work I’d be a total loner!

    1. Thank you so much! I’m lucky in that I can get British beans in our local supermarket so I can still enjoy beans on toast whenever I want some simple comfort food! 🙂

  5. Hello, I am in the middle of that lovely green card paperwork, my boyfriend is Dutch and immigrating to Canada, I read that bit about your wife and long distance, do you have any other posts about how you guys managed with the long distance and the stress of paperwork for green cards?

Leave a Reply

