The Rain in Maine

Yesterday we spent a lovely day in beautiful Ogunquit Maine and I came away with a new understanding of how pretty the Maine coast is but no better understanding of how to pronounce Ogunquit. One thing at a time, right? There is a beautiful mile long walk along the coast called Marginal Way and although it was uncomfortably hot we had a nice stroll. Ogunquit was lovely and on the way home we stopped off at Mount Agamenticus which is not particularly high but it does provide wonderful views of Maine. We were lucky enough to watch a storm from the summit. I find there is nothing better than watching a storm and staying dry at the same time! I thought you might like to see the photos. 🙂

OG1.jpg
Perkins Cove, Ogunquit. You can see the storm clouds moving in
OG3.jpg
Another view from a different angle
OG2.jpg
A view from Marginal Way. You can just see the top of a mini lighthouse in the centre
OG4.jpg
View from the top of Mount Agamenticus. Watching a storm come in was pretty cool!
OG5.jpg
The view from the other side of the hill, you can see the sea

 

 

13 thoughts on “The Rain in Maine

  1. Great pix and what a beautiful place! Did you use an effect on your camera or in editing? The colors look exceptionally vivid. I started experimenting with settings on my camera to go a bit more “pro”. Haha!
    My understanding of native American words would lead me to pronounce it Oh-GUN-quit or possibly drop the qu for a k.
    Anyway, I don’t think I’ve “seen” you at my travel blog, so I’m inviting you to check it out: rainsalot.wordpress.com. I just posted about Central Oregon.

    1. These were taken on my phone camera which generally autofixes images for me unless I tell it not to. I forgot my proper camera unfortunately.

      I loved the Oregon posts, I’m thinking about heading west soon so this is very useful inspiration! 🙂

  2. I happened to walk the Marginal Walkway in Ogunquit the first week of October last year. Veeeery windy and slightly cold but the stormy sea was a beautiful thing to watch. I prefer stormy sea to no sea 🙂 .

  3. Lovely photos! We visited Maine briefly last year, for some reason I had expected there to be lots of cliffs and open seascapes (I have no idea where I got that impression from). Instead the part we were in had lots of estuaries and creeks, very much like Cornwall.

Leave a Reply

