NaNoWriMo Progress Update

I know that I’ve not spent much time on WordPress lately and as you’ve probably guessed it’s due to the struggles of trying to write 50,000 words in a month for NaNoWriMo. If you check out my post from the start of the month (you can find it here) I talk about what I’m writing and even include an excerpt from the novel. I won’t punish you all by posting another excerpt, NaNo encourages quantity over quality after all!

I’m actually doing pretty well in terms of quantity, I’ve written about 39,000 words so far so I’m a little bit ahead of where I should be at this stage. Hopefully that will let me have a little break at the end of the month. I’ve discovered that I can’t write love scenes to save my life and in all my future novels all characters should be strictly asexual to avoid me ever having to write about a sex scene. They have awards every year for the most terrible depictions of sex in fiction and should my content ever be published I would win it hands down. So awkward.

Despite the awfulness of my rushed writing I actually quite like the idea I came up with at the last moment so maybe I’ll be able to make something of it once NaNoWriMo is over and I can start again with an actual plan. We’ll see!

Are you doing NaNo this year? How’s it going for you?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Progress Update

  1. I had trouble in the past with love scenes. I once had a mini freak out writing a scene where a character was brushing someone’s hair and developed a crush on him. I have no idea why I was so squeamish about it.

    I ended up having two guys have a relationship. It’s NOT erotica by a long shot. It’s YA. There’s implied sex but it’s PG-13 textwise. I managed to get their romance working. Maybe it was because it was two men. I’m not a man, so I never imagined myself as the female character.

  2. It weird, I have more trouble with making the romance work when I plan it than when the characters just “make it happen” so now I try not to worry about it. This year it upset me a little bit with my book because it was NaNo and I planned a horror/suspense/thriller THING that became something else of its own – with awkward romance in it that I didn’t plan and didn’t originally want. I gave up and let it be in there. This book will just have to figure out where it belongs by itself.

  3. I totally understand about the awkward scenes. In the morning I used to write in the living room and Edward would affectionately come over and rub my shoulders a few seconds before asking me to make more coffee. I find it sweet until he reads over my shoulders and asks, “What are you writing? Why are you writing about __? You’re so weird.”
    This year I’ve been too distracted with making sure I have a job lined up for when my position at my current work place is eliminated on the last day of this month, and then attending activities to help me remain positive and productive. I call this research for writing material, so it’s not a total loss.

Leave a Reply

