Counting Down

Today has been a good day. I have one workday left followed by a free weekend then a flight to Boston on Monday for two weeks with my wife. Knowing that in four days we will be reunited lifts my spirits like nothing else. For those who are interested, in our current position we are hoping for a June interview at the London embassy. I say hoping because nothing can ever be certain with the US immigration system so I’m not going to get excited until we have that interview date! The interview is the final stage of the process and as soon as I receive my passport back in the post I’m free to go, so we are thinking of a June or July date for the move. Hopefully our current rate of progress continues but I’ll keep you all updated.

 

I’ve set myself some tasks to do while I’m in Boston to get ready for my move in the summer. These include getting to know my future home town better and mailing my immigrant visa packet to the NVC.  Moving to a foreign country to start a new life is probably the biggest change I’ll ever have in my life so I’m going to start looking for places that serve imported food- yes it is strange to see British food in the import section of supermarkets! I’m also going to be on the lookout for bars that show English sports and places that expats hang out. There’s nothing better than the food you grew up with and love and I think that’s why every large city has shops that cater for expats. I intend to fully embrace American food but life is just that much more civilised when you can have a cup of tea and a packet of bourbons, right?

 

One thing I’m nervous about is making new friends when I move, I’m going to be in a large city where I only know one person. I’m still debating the merits of joining an expat community (much easier to make friends when you have common ground) or going all out and trying to make US friends. One thing I am sure of is that I won’t be having any discussions about baseball, or drinking Budweiser. The thought of doing either appals me. I’d like to point out to my British friends that the reputation American beer has is not really fair. Yes Budweiser and Miller are like fizzy water with added calories but there are a huge amount of small craft brewers around which are similar to small British breweries. So Americans can produce alcohol that isn’t like drinking piss. I quite like Sam Adams Boston Lager which amusingly is in the import section of my local supermarket in England.

It’s time for me to finish my musings and begin packing, I’ll be back!

 

2 thoughts on “Counting Down

  1. Don’t worry, there are plenty of Americans who don’t follow sports and don’t drink Budweiser. There’s a lot of people and subcultures here. The chances of finding one that fits you pretty well is good, especially in a major city like Boston. Worse comes to worst, I’m just down in NJ. We can try a VJ 2013 East Coast meet up/party. 😛

    1. Thanks for the reassurance 🙂 I’m kinda looking forward to the challenge of meeting new people, just a little apprehensive about my British social awkwardness lol. A VJ meet up would be intriguing, there’s a few people on VJ I think I’d like to meet, you are the only east coast one so far I think though! Also some I would not like to meet haha.

Leave a Reply

